Fireworks photography: using my tripod for the first time

My wife and son bought me a Manfrotto tripod for Father’s Day this summer. It was my first tripod, and it was great to have for pictures of the Fourth of July fireworks on St. Pete Beach. Here are some pictures of that night. It was my first time shooting fireworks with a DSLR! I think they turned out pretty well. πŸ™‚ These types of shots are perfect examples of why I decided to invest in a DSLR after years of frustration with the limitations of point-and-shoot cameras.

4 thoughts on “Fireworks photography: using my tripod for the first time

  1. Hey Rick !!
    Stunning pictures … am amazed πŸ™‚
    Just wanted to ask, if you had an idea for Nikon’s 70-200mm lens too.
    I gave a thought to buy one in the near future, just need to research about it first πŸ˜‰

    Keep doing the Great work !! \m/

    • Thank you Ankur! I think you will really love the 70-200mm. The versatility of that focal length and f2.8 aperture is amazing. You can use the lens for portraits, sports, nature… just about anything. I spent extra money to get the f2.8, but the extra speed is well worth it. Good luck! πŸ™‚

What do you think?

