Golden hour gator lurks

Living here in Florida, there are plenty of opportunities to see alligators. I’m always in awe of these creatures that have managed to survive for so long. During a recent fishing trip, the sun was setting and cast beautiful golden hour light on this alligator, who lives in Lake Tarpon, FL. The sun hit his eyes and face just right, and I was lucky enough to have noticed the fleeting light.

I also made the picture below and decided to turn it into a black and white shot. It has a much different feel than the picture above, and I like it for different reasons. Black and white gives it the look of a more classic shot, something that could have been taken 75 years ago.

6 thoughts on “Golden hour gator lurks

  1. Very awesome pictures. I especially enjoyed seeing both the color and the black and white photo’s. I am partial to black and white, but to see them next to each other made me say, “Wow!” Keep up the awesome shots!

  2. I like this photography. This and some of your photos of wet land type birds remind me of my dad’s photography! We live in a place with lots of alligators and birds avalable. Great work with the alligator and on the blog as a whole! ( your son is cute!)

What do you think?

